Skip To Content


Mayor & Council

The City of Davenport is a Mayor-Council form of government with a professional City Administrator. The legislative body is comprised of the Mayor and ten Council members: 8 ward alderman and 2 at-large.

 The Mayor and Alderman At-Large are elected on a city-wide ballot, and ward Alderman are elected by the residents in their respective wards. Terms are two-years long. Elections are held in November of odd numbered years, and terms begin in January of the even numbered year.

The City Council meets the first four Wednesdays of every month at 5:30 p.m. in Council Chambers; 226 W. 4th Street, Davenport, IA 52801.  Click here to view our Frequently Asked Questions page for more information on your Mayor & City Council. 


226 W 4th Street
Davenport, IA 52801